3. Leila


Built in 1898 by John Hilditch of Carrickfergus
Year: Owner(s):
1898 C A V Yeo
1900 J Dollard
1904 F H Croskerry
1906 A W Samuels
1927 W MacBride
1948 J Norman Wilkinson
1999 Roddy Cooper








Leila, under the ownership and helm of Vivian Yeo, won the first ever official race 'the maiden race' on Wednesday May 4th 1898 by 17 seconds from Aura, Hera, Rita and Silvermoon.

His ownership was to last just 2 years, dwarfed in comparison to the formidable record of Norman Wilkinson who later sailed Leila for 51 years.