Biggest ever attendance at Gibney Classic

30 August 2014

This year's Gibney Classic drew an entry of 44 keelboats and a huge gathering in Malahide's famous hostelry on Saturday 30th September. Four cruiser classes and two one-design classes took part in the event which had the additional spectacle of the Howth Seventeens beating into Malahide in 20 knots of wind.

Gibney brothers Barry and Tony hosted a superb welcome for the hundreds of thirsty sailors that managed to keep the bar busy for the short couple of hours before the keelboats needed to depart in time for the tide. HYC Commodore Brian Turvey thanked them for their continued support of this annual event, whilst a special word was given to the organising team of Dermot Skehan and the hard-working Maureen Muir (pictured above receiving a gift from Barry Gibney).

The Gibney Trophy was presented to the crew of Howth 17 'Isobel' by Dermot Skehan following their class win and leading their famous class into Malahide Marina.

See all the results HERE

The organising committee would also like to thank Malahide Marina and MYC Commodore Graham Smith for their support and important contribution to this very successful event.

Gibney Trophy winners - Howth 17 'Isobel' presented their prizes by Tony and Barry Gibney


Tony and Barry Gibney present event chairman Dermot Skehan with his prize


'Harlequin's' Dave Clarke collects his prize


'Mary Ellen's' Kevin O'Byrne - winner White Sails IRC


Vince Gaffney (Alliance II) - winner of Class 3 IRC


Kevin Darmody collecting the prize for 'Findlater Viking' - winners of Class 2 ECHO


HYC Hon Sailing Secretary Emmet Dalton looks pleased as he collects his prize on behalf of his crew of 'Jebus'


Roddy Cooper and his crew on the Howth 17  'Leila' won the handicap prize


Jonathan Wormald with Gibney brothers Tony and Barry


   Noel Davidson and his J80 winning team!


Ciara Dowling with Tony, Maureen and Barry