HYC Provident Dinghy Regatta Round-up 2021

13 September 2021
HYC Provident Dinghy Regatta Round-up 2021

HYC hosted its annual 'Provident Dinghy Regatta' on Sunday.  We had a great turnout with 43 sailors participating in 33 dinghies across five classes.

We waited nervously on Sunday morning as the forecast was for less than 5 knots of breeze.  What a pleasant surprise to be greeted with 10-12 knots from the North West.

Paddy Judge, our Race Officer for the event, wasted no time in getting the ball rolling and together with Neil Murphy and the race committee on Star Point did a great job to get our quota of three races completed.

The 420s, Laser Full Rig, Laser Radials, RS Fevas and Topaz all raced together in a sundry fleet under the Portsmouth Yardstick handicap.  It was great to see some dinghy spinnakers in Howth sound courtesy of a strong fleet of 420s and RS Fevas.

There was a separate start for the Laser 4.7 fleet who were racing for the Heron cup, traditionally awarded to the largest competing Laser fleet. A strong Oppie contingent consisting of main and regatta fleet sailors also had their own start.

The event was really well attended by local clubs and considering the challenges we have all had with the pandemic, it was absolutely brilliant to see entries from Malahide, Sutton, Skerries and NYC.

HYC sailors fared well in the results with Fiachra Farrelly winning the Laser 4.7s (Heron Trophy) and Abbey Kinsella and Cillian Twomey taking 2nd and 3rd place.  

Simon Sheridan also from HYC took the spoils in the Sundry fleet sailing a Laser Full rig, with James Anglim from MYC sailing a radial in 2nd and Sienna Wright in third also in a radial.

Des Turvey, HYC took the first prize in the main Optimist class (Drisheen Trophy) with Harry Dunne and Sarah Scott taking 2nd and 3rd place.

Kate Spain took first place the Oppy regatta fleet (McBride Cup) with Joseph Lydon in 2nd place. 

View prize winner gallery

View Results:

Laser 4.7


Optimist Fleet

Special mention to Lucy Scott who was the unanimous winner of the Best endeavour prize and Ben Keating who received the youngest sailor award.