Johnny Flynn is Optimist National Champion after 10-race battle

16 August 2020
Johnny Flynn is Optimist National Champion after 10-race battle

It is a proud day for Howth Yacht Club as our very own Johnny Flynn claimed the Optimist Irish National Title ahead of RCYC’s Ben O’Shaughnessy. Out of a 10-race series Johnny showed great stamina, consistency and determination in winning 5 races. With no let up in the pressure to perform, he had to win the last race and keep O’Shaughnessy at bay to claim the overall title which he successfully did and finished 1 point ahead overall. The last Senior Irish National winner from Howth was Diana Kissane who won 3 in a row in 2005, 2006 & 2007.

HYC had 6 sailors in the top 10 overall - a fantastic performance! Following behind Johnny were HYC’s Rocco Wright who took 3rd position overall, HYC’s William Walsh in 4th, Hugo Crawford in 6th, Des Turvey 8th overall and 2nd Junior, Cillian Twomey 9th and Sienna Wright took 4th place in the Juniors.

The Junior Team Prize was won by HYC's team of Des Turvey, Sienna Wright and Harry Dunne. Also entered and participating from HYC was Sorca Gannon O’Connor, Fiachra Farrelly, Charlie Keating, Evan Darby, Keelan Darby, Ben Keating, Sarah Scott, Finn Cullen, Steve Gannon O’Connor, Hannah Scott, Niamh Connell, William Walsh, Hannah Walsh and Oisín Kelly. William Walsh also joined Rocco and Johnny in being selected for the 2020 World Championship. Congratulations to all who took part.

See Gallery here