HYC Members welcome incoming Commodore Ian Byrne

19 December 2018
HYC Members welcome incoming Commodore Ian Byrne
There was a great turnout and positive vibe at last Thursday’s AGM in HYC. Outgoing Commodore Joe McPeake welcomed in the new committee stating that he was pleased that the financial position of the club is stabilising and that successful initiatives such as Wave Regatta brought record numbers back racing and enjoying the Club.
Incoming Commodore Ian Byrne paid tribute to those retiring committee members including Ian Malcolm, David Mulligan and Kieran Jameson all who will be continuing to work for their respective committees. In a presentation to retiring Commodore Joe McPeake, Ian paid tribute to the strong leadership and outstanding achievements over the past two years which have turned the Club's financial position around and opened it up to a wider audience by extending access to sailing to everyone in the community through initiatives such as Quest Howth, Wave Regatta and more flexible membership options.
Pictured above is Joe McPeake presenting the burgee to new Commodore Ian Byrne who in turn presented Flag Officer burgees to Vice Commodore Paddy Judge and Rear Commodores Sara Lacy and Neil Murphy.
Vice Commodore Paddy Judge receives his flag
Rear Commodore Sara Lacy receives her flag
Rear Commodore Neil Murphy receives his flag

2019 Committee

Ian Byrne


Paddy Judge

Vice Commodore

Sara Lacy


Neil Murphy




Bernie Condy

Honorary Secretary

Caroline Gore-Grimes

Honorary Sailing Secretary

Michael Torpey

Honorary Treasurer



Eddie Bourke

General Committee

Joe Carton

General Committee

Paul Carty

General Committee

Robert Dix

General Committee

John Flynn

General Committee

Kevin Monks

General Committee

Sam O’Byrne

General Committee

Sarah Robertson

General Committee

Joe McPeake