2013 Achievers' Awards

30 November 2013

Commodore Breda Dillon presents the GM Trophy to Sam Markey - as 'the junior member who most embodied the spirit of junior sailing' during 2013.

The J24 World Championship featured strongly at this year's Achievers celebration at H.Y.C. on Saturday November 30th.

The top award 'Boat of the Year' was presented to Euro Car Parks Kilcullen; richly deserved for a year of successes for the K25 team, taking the Irish J24 national Championship and J24 Eastern titles and performing well in the J24 Worlds.

Commodore Breda Dillon presented the awards, and expressed thanks to both David Cullen of Euro Car Parks and Enda O'Coineen for their outstanding support to the K25 team.

The trophy 'Silver Fox' was awarded to the J24 Worlds Team. Derek Bothwell Championship Chairman accepted the trophy on behalf of the team and expressed his very sincere thanks to all members of the huge team that gave up so much of their time to bring this event to its excellent conclusion.

The 'Seaward Bell' - a junior trophy awarded for outstanding performance either at home or abroad was this year awarded to Cliff Waddilove and Robert Dickson for their achievement in qualifying to represent Ireland at the ISAF Youth Worlds, and their campaign at both the 420 Worlds in Valencia where they finished 3rd under 16yrs, and again sailed very consistently at the Junior Europeans in Pwllhei end of august. The pair are currently spending their Transition Year's studies in La Rochelle France, improving their French no doubt, and also enrolled in an intensive sail training programme with their 420. Robert's well renowned grandfather Roy Dickson and Sean's father Cliff accepted the award on their behalf.

Other awards presented at the Celebration brunch included 'Volunteer of the Year' - this year presented to Brendan O'Reilly. 'Instructor of the Year' - presented to Cillian McGreer, and the 'GM Trophy' awarded to a junior member who most embodies the spirit of sailing at HYC. This year the GM Trophy was awarded to Sam Markey.


Shortlist of final nominees:

Boat of the Year

Euro Car Parks Kilcullen,


Safari of Howth,


Bite the Bullet


Silver Fox Trophy

J24 Worlds Team,

K25 Team,

Dermot Skehan,

Laura Dillon

Seaward Bell Trophy

Sean Waddilove & Robert Dickson,

Alex O’Grady


Instructor of the Year

Cillian McGreer,

Lewis Eickholt,

Tara Flood,

Mark Condy,

Simon Lawlor,

Peig Staunton,

Cillian Dickson,

Gordon Stirling,

Chris Malcolm,

Alex Delamer,

Barry Mulvey,

Joseph Murphy,

Medb Glackin,

Oliver Keenan


Volunteer of the Year

Fergus O’Kelly,

Brendan O’Reilly,

Norbert Reilly,

Stephen Quinn,

Sara Lacy,

Stephen Harris,

Seamus O’Carroll,

Myles Byrne


GM Trophy

Sam Markey,

Oliver Juchnevicius,

Nadia Beshoff & Lily Jennings,

Luke Turvey,

Ruth Lacy,

Michael Fitzgibbon